Fast Gourmet (14th and W)

Posted: July 12, 2011 in U-Street Corridor

In honor of the annual Player Haters Ball this will be a tribute to everyone’s favorite Player Hater and 2002 winner… Silky Johnson.

Hate, Hate, Hate...

Officially my new favorite spot in this sad excuse for a city (HATE), Fast Gourmet is the definition of a diamond in the rough. Located in the heart of the U-Street Corridor, its easily overlooked by close-minded fools unwilling to grub inside of a gas station. That’s right hater, its inside a gas station and a rundown one at that. But open up those doors, and find yourself in a world of glory and wonder. I’m about to go all serious so hang on…. Inside you’ll find a minimalist yet aesthetically pleasing style, that has a cool and inviting feeling.

Back to reality- Offering everything from Falafel to BBQ Chicken, to its authentic South American food; Fast Gourmet’s chalkboard menu will blow your mind. Although my first excursion to Fast Gourmet was plagued by negative after effects of the previous night (Typical Night) I thoroughly enjoyed my delicious Chivito. After a short wait, what I received was a typical Uruguayan sandwich loaded with beef tenderloin, mozzarella, black forest ham, bacon and sautéed mushrooms ($13).

Chivito - Believe This

At first glance the sandwich surrounded by thin crispy fries seemed almost too good to be true… I wondered if the effects of the night before had actually worn off? After my first bite, I knew my taste buds (and life) would never be the same.

Good Lord

Many months and a hiatus from DC later, this food utopia disappeared from memory as spring break (BEERS! See above link for typical day), school, finals and a whole slew of other issues clouded my mind. After finally taking the initiative to rescind all responsibility, with the assistance of a friend I finally made it back to my Food Ground Zero. After a series of metro stops and a short walk, opening the doors reminded me why I fell in love all those months ago. After a brief chat with the co-owner (Also my friend’s sister) I decided to change things up and go with the Cubano. Every moment I waited seemed like an eternity, but I kept my mouth shut and decided not to Hate. When my name was finally called, what lay before me left me in disbelief. Packed inside a fresh baked roll resided a generous hunk of slow-roasted pork butt that was marinated for a whole day (The fuck?) topped with ham, swiss and thinly sliced pickles ($8.50).

After wiping the table of the pool of drool that escaped my mouth, I bit into a sandwich unlike any other. After devouring my sandwich, I made quick work of the crisp and delicious thinly sliced french fries.

I could go on, but in the effort to wrap this shit up I have to say that Fast Gourmet is an up and coming gourmet sandwich joint that will leave you with a goofy grin of pure satisfaction. Open until midnight on weekdays and 5am on weekends (for you lurkers out there) be sure to check this place out whenever possible. Oh, and they deliver…

(U-Street Corridor, 1400 W St NW)

Leave a Reply

